West Lancashire MP Rosie Cooper is calling on constituents from the local British-Chinese community to put themselves forward for a new award designed to recognise their achievements and contributions to national life.

Nominations are now open for The Blossom Awards which aim to identify high achievers from the British-Chinese Community across the country in a range of fields from science and the creative industries to business and voluntary work.

The Awards aim to recognise unsung heroes like teachers, NHS staff and charity leaders, and those who have achieved success in professional fields like engineering, technology and business.

The Blossom Awards are the first ever accolades focused exclusively on the British-Chinese Community – the country’s third largest visible ethnic minority group.

Whilst first generation Chinese immigrants typically worked in takeaways and restaurants, second and third generations of British-Chinese people, many of whom who were born or grew up in the UK, have flourished in a broad range of fields and make an outstanding contribution to our area and to national life beyond the traditional stereotypes.

West Lancashire MP Rosie Cooper said:
“British-Chinese people are doing inspirational work in communities across West Lancashire, and the Blossom Awards shine a light on their success and contribution.

“From business and the arts to science and the charity sector, the Awards also enable British-Chinese people to challenge outdated perceptions about their identity.

“Please encourage a friend, family member, neighbour or colleague who deserves recognition to nominate themselves.”

The Awards have gained the support of Alan Yau OBE, entrepreneur and founder of the Wagamama noodle bar chain, and have been co-founded by Alan Mak, the UK’s first ever MP of British-Chinese heritage.

Nominations are now open and close on Friday 12 June 2020 and must be submitted online: www.TheBlossomAwards.org.uk

Award Winners will be invited to a ceremony in central London in late October 2020.

Nominations are welcome in 12 Awards categories – see below for full list.

Only individuals can nominate themselves – not groups.

Nominations can only be submitted by the nominee, and must be done online via the website.

There is no fee or any other charge to submit a nomination.

The 12 categories open for nominations are:

  • Education
  • Environment & Sustainability
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Business & Professions
  • Engineering & Science
  • Public Service
  • Culture, Music & the Arts
  • Community & Charity
  • Young Achiever (under 30)
  • Food & Hospitality
  • Technology & Digital
  • Media & Creative Industries
Blossom Awards
Blossom Awards
Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search